Thread: BFG R1 vs R1S?

Default BFG R1 vs R1S?

Has anyone compared the R1S tread compound with the R1? Grip level, overheating, heat cycles, tread wear, feel, etc. I've been using R1 for several years and love the extended life over the purple crack.
    Marty Doane
    ITS RX-7 #13 (sold)
    2016 Winnebago Journey (home)

Been thwartd both times I ran them this year, first with a hub failure at VIR and then with a wreck 12 laps or so in at Roebling.

Initial impressions on the R1-S: the "bleed out" of the mold stuff is way worse than Hoosiers. First lap must be gentle.

After that, I'd say same or even better grip, confidence, etc. than the R6. I didn't overheat them at Roebling and I drove them hard. NOt sure about longetivity yet but I will continue the experiment at the SIC, and possibly the ARRC (not sure if the gearing works there with the slow corner onto hte back straight).
    NC Region
    1980 ITS Triumph TR8

Grip level is better than the R1, but I can't say a whole lot else yet..
    I bought a set of takeoffs a few months ago and stuck them on the car right before the COTA race.
    Had some weird handling issues and was scratching my head when the local BFG guy asked me why I had 3 R1S on the car and one R1 on the right rear. Hmmm might explain why the car was only loose in left turns!

Anyway, I switched back to another full set of R1 and the grip level was less, but not by a huge amount.

Laps times between the R1 and purple crack R6 are 'only' about 0.5sec. The R6 feel much more stable and have more linear breakaway in turns, but the R1 is faster on the straights- I'm guessing due to lower rolling resistance.

Not exactly the answer you were looking for, but yes- the R1S has a noticeable- not not dramatic- increase in grip.
    Houston Region
    STU Nissan 240SX
    EProd RX7