Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noob here few questions on my options.

Default Noob here few questions on my options.

Hello IT
    I currently own a 4wd 91 civic wagon and I would love to build it for use in some type of amateur racing.
    What options to I have on the engine/drivetrain and what class would I be put in?
    Engine:
    Is any type of motor swap legal?
    Is any form of boost legal?

Drivetrain:
    Would I be better off with a 2wd?

If your serious with your request please go to the following site. This is what the SCCA calls the General Competition Rules. For the Improved Touring Category Specifications go to page 383, read & follow through to the car class specification lines & see if there is a place for your car.

http://cms.scca.com/documents/2011%2...%20version.pdf
    Have Fun ; )
    David Dewhurst
    CenDiv Milwaukee Region
    Spec Miata #14

Welcome!

Have you done any HPDEs yet? If not, I'd suggest starting there.

If you're ready for Club Racing, I'd strongly recommend that you look at purchasing an already built car. Especially in this economy, there are some amazing deals out there. Basically, I personally wouldn't build that particular car into a race car.
    Dave Gran
    Real Roads, Real Car Guys – Real World Road Tests
    Go Ahead - Take the Wheel's Free Guide to Racing

Your best bet would be to buy an already-built Civic or CRX. It's going to sound like an expensive proposition - think $4000-7000 for a solid starter car, depending on details - but it will be cheaper than building your own.

K

PS - Love those wagons!

1 - definately go read the rules. the GCR lists all of the required safety stuff toward the front, and the various classifications toward the rear. this is a good site to ask Impoved Touring and Super Touring questions (ST has a subforum here).