Thread: Overheating Question

Default Overheating Question

Had overheating issues at new Hampshire Sunday in my Miata. Dash light came on and Temp was close to 140F. I shut it down and pulled in. Hope I havent damaged a new engine. I unloaded tonight and strted to look for reason. After investigation found out that there was no thermostat in place. Is this my problem?
    Jim Alley
    1990 ITA Miata

Its all about doing your personal Best

I'm no mechanic but...

Are you sure it wasn't 240º? My car isn't warm until over 160º. And no, not having a thermostat shouldn't cause you to overheat. If anything not having a tstat would make it harder for you to get heat during the colder seasons.

Check the wiring to your dash light.
    Ryan Scott
    ITC CRX #23

Sponsors: GoPro, PR Machine Works, SAS, Yoke's Body Shop, Signature Signs
    Great Scott Motorsports
    Rally Team for Dreams

240 is borderline but you should be ok. If you hurt anything it would probably be the head gasket. Do a compression check and see what you get and go from there.

The lack of the t-stat COULD cause a problem, but I doubt it. Some cooling systems need the restriction the t-stat provides. Wtihout it, the coolant actually flows through the radiator too fast and does not have time to cool. Not sure if that is the case with a Miata cooling system -- go ask on the SM board. THey probably have the answer off hand.
    NC Region
    1980 ITS Triumph TR8

I do not know about Miatas, but the lack of a thermostat in most racecars forces too much water too fast through the radiator not allowing it to cool. Most racecars have a thermostat or at least a flow restrictor.

matt

Since Jeff beat me to the punch, make sure you do not have an air pocket in the system.

matt