Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: hey everyone im new just got a quick ??

Default hey everyone im new just got a quick ??

hey everyone my name is ismael... and im new to the fourm and to scca, imma start building a ITS rx7 beginning of this upcoming year once i get my income tax and ive been read alot of the post and stuf like that and so far i just have two quick questions which are...can u remove sound deading tar, and second my rx7 was originally automatic and i converted it to manuel but autos and manuels have different tranny mounts so i had to make my own tranny mount will this break some sort of rule or regulation?? actually i have one more my dash has been changed out so it doesnt have the vin on there the only vin i got is the one the firewall...what should i do about this?? or should i just get another shell that has both vin plates? thanks in advance for ur help
    ismael

also are lexan hatches allowed??

Hello and welcome.....you made a good choice starting with a Second Gen RX7. Good, solid, reliable car.

One piece of advice. Before, during and after your build, read the ITCS section of the GCR many times. It's our rulebook, is very short and will answer most any questions a new guy building a car will have. For some of the unanswerable ones, come here, post and it and watch the debates begin...lol......

Reading the rules not only tells you what you can and can't do, but also may give you ideas about things you have not thought of. Rules are available for free, online, at www.scca.org.

To answer your specific questions, you should try to figure out a way to use a stock tranny mount on the RX7. I'm sure someone here has converted from auto to manual and can help you with that.

Second, no, lexan is not legal for windows/hatches.
    NC Region
    1980 ITS Triumph TR8

What Jeff Said ^^^^^

"Custom" tranny mount is illegal. Stock mount is legal.

Lexan = illegal

Vin plate shouldn't be a big deal.

Good luck and have fun