Thread: The next step...

I have been racing ITB since 2001. I was fortunate enough to train at skip barber and run with them at a young age and now at age 24, I am beginning to run competitively (set track record at Road America by 2 sec and am .04 off of the record at Black Hawk farms) in IT.

Here's the question. Where do I go next? I plan on running IT next year and then run in the ARRC. The ultimate goal is to try to make a career out of this racing stuff so I need to start planning on how I want to try to get there. It seems that everyone I talk to believes that Prod has a questionable future so What classes do you guys think I should look into? I am running a 94 VW golf and would like to stay front wheel drive and if possible VW. The Jetta TDI cup is intriguing, so does Grand Am Cup, but I am aware there are a few steps before I can get to that level.

Thanks for any input.

Aaron Stehly
    #68 ITB VW GTI

A career? As a driver? Simply put, get good at finding money. Either thru a lucrative job, or an inheritance, or from outside sources.

If from outside sources, you will find it much easier to find willing sponsors in the circle track world.

But, before you make any moves, go digging, and find out what it really costs to run the series you desire, and then do a cost vs benefit analysis. Find a Grand Am team guy, and somehow pry the financial info from him. Learn about how guys like you have done it. Pierre Kleinubing? Did you know he draws zero salery? He survives on winnings alone. (And personal sponsorship) Eric Curran is a great example of an SCCA ITB guy who has "made it". I don't know what he gets paid, but I heard that during his Realtime days he was given a car, no cost, but he needed to get there to drive it. If he made money, he split it with the team.

In any case, do some digging to get the best picture of how the game works in SCCA, Grand Am, ARCA, and NASCAR.
    Jake Gulick

CarriageHouse Motorsports