Thread: ITB GTI Getting Started

I recently aquired Doug Ketchie's old '83 GTI ITB car. I'm slowly rebuilding it as it was just a rolling chassis when I got it. The cage looks good and is hopefully up to spec. Any suggestions on suspension? I've been in Mazda land for the last 5 years so the VW competition market is unknown to me. This is my first attempt at a roadrace legal car so I'm sure I'll have tons of questions before this thing ever hits the track.[attachmentid=445][attachmentid=445][attachmentid=446][attachmentid=450]

A1 VWs are a very well known quantity and there's a lot of knowledge out there about them. Get a tech inspector, or at least an experienced racer to look the cage over. Keep in mind that you'll probably have to upgrade the pass. side for the '07 season. As far as suspension goes, there are several options, It really depends on how much money you want to spend.

Where are you from? That info might make it easier to hook up with someone local....

What does it currently have for a suspension?

Shine was very helpful to me when I was running a GTi and were a good group of guys at the track

Although i haven't worked personally with Bildon, I have driven Kirk Knestis's car and know his thoughts and he speaks very highly of them.

My silence on other speaks fo itself..........

You will also get better info here than at VW Whortex
    Jeff L

ITA Miata

2010 NARRC Champion

2007 NERRC Championship, 2nd place
    2008 NARRC Championship, 2nd place
    2009 NARRC Championship, 2nd place

It looks like maybe your in NC. Your local to check out Kirk's car first hand. And Chris Schimmel would be the guy to talk to about your cage.