Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rabbit GTi racing...?

Default Rabbit GTi racing...?

Hey everyone, complete newbie here. I was just wondering if Rabbit GTi's were competative. I can find them left on the web, and their selling for around 5 or 6 hundred for a fairly nice one. Would it be worth grabbing one to soup up and learn to race in? Thanks

Yes, they are still out there, but in ITB, the A2 Golf GTI is the better bet. 4 wheel disk, better front suspension geometry, but all in all, the A1 Rabbit and Scirocco are still good cars.

Check out the pictures of mine.

------------------
    Tim Linerud
    San Francisco Region SCCA
    #95 GP Wabbit
    http://linerud.myvnc.com/racing/index.html

As been said a million times on this forum, you are much better off buying a completed race car then building one from scratch.

Although the Golfs are/will be a better car, they are new to ITB and have not been fully developed yet. A GTi can still run towards the front.

If you're looking to do a year or two of open track days (I would strongly suggest starting there)a GTi would be a great car. However, at $500, you'll be chasing a lot of problems instead of being on the track.

Good Luck
    Jeff
    #74 ITB GTi

[This message has been edited by JLawton (edited July 23, 2004).]

Fun cars to race (I used to have one). But, as has been said, if you're just starting out, it's better to buy a done car. ITB Rabbit GTI's can be had for $2500 - $5000, all day long. You won't even come close to building one for that.

FYI, I sold mine for $3500, and it was pretty well developed.

------------------
    MARRS #25 ITB Rabbit GTI (sold) | MARRS #25 HProd Rabbit
    SCCA 279608

Originally posted by JLawton:
    Although the Golfs are/will be a better car, they are new to ITB and have not been fully developed yet.
    Huh? The A2 Golf GTI has been in ITB for something like 5 years. It's the A3 Golf that was recently classified into ITB.

Bob...