Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What made the ARRC so prestigious?

Default What made the ARRC so prestigious?

Maybe this is a silly question and the answer is simply just because. I was thinking about the upcoming NARRC race, and wonder why this (or other regional championship events) are not as big of an event. Is the ARRC officially the national IT championship race or has it simply become thought of that way over time?

------------------
    Dave Gran
    NER #13 ITA
    '87 Honda Prelude

The ARRC. You got to love it. I am by no means an expert so take what I say with a grain of salt.

I think the name American Road Race of Champions started and may have been the early name of the Runoffs. The 1st ARRC was held at Riverside, California, hosting national classes. Some are still around some dead AP-HP, FV and other formula classes, also something they called sedan.
    In the late 60’s the ARRC was moved to Daytona. Cobras raced in AP and BP. Sweet
    Then in the early 70’s maybe 72 Road Atlanta got the joy of having the ARRC. EP had 4 240Z’s going into turn one leading the pack. 30 years later and the car is still winning.
    I don’t know when the name runoffs came into play but it replaced the ARRC in the late 70’s and stayed in Atlanta. The runoffs then moved to Mid Ohio.

The ARRC we know and love was reborn in the early 90’s. I think Road Atlanta has the rights to the name. The region billed it as the IT runoffs so people came as they still do. The early ARRC’s had people from Texas to New England probably more diverse but I am just thinking of people I know did well those early years.