Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: driver's side glass

Default driver's side glass

I'm seeking clarification from the '05 GCR. I'm new to ITS, so indulge me with a question that has probably been beaten like the proverbial dead horse.
    Can you remove the driver's side window glass and mechanism WITHOUT having to use the "gutting clause" from building a bulging NASCAR style roll cage?
    Thanks, Troy

NO

------------------
    Grandpa's toys-modded suspensions and a few other tweaks
    '89 CRX Si-SCCA ITA #99
    '03 Dodge Dakota Club Cab V8-Patriot Blue gonna tow

No.

No

------------------
    MARRS #25 ITB Rabbit GTI (sold) | MARRS #25 HProd Rabbit
    SCCA 279608

No!

Yes..............but its illegal.

No.............

BUT...read the definition of what is considered "NASCAR" door bars carefully...it doesn't match many preconceived notions..

I think that, even if the door bar is already welded in, that I would rip it out and redo it in order to gut the door. It's big freebie in the rules if you ask me.

------------------
    Jake Gulick
    CarriageHouse Motorsports
    ITA 57 RX-7
    New England Region
    [email protected]

On a related topic, I have written to request that NASCAR door bars be permitted on the passenger side.

In support of Performance Driving Experience (PDE) events, permit these classes to utilize NASCAR style door bars on the passenger side.

3.1.3.3. in the TTR requires "a passenger seat with the same safety equipment as the driver."

A NASCAR style door bar is a significant piece of the driver's safety equipment. As the TTR currently stands my ITA prepared car could not be used in a PDE because the driver seat has NASCAR style door bars and the passenger seat does not.

Rather than changing the TTR rules to permit a lower standard for the passenger door bars than the driver side has - the T, SS and IT rules should be improved to permit the use of NASCAR style door bars on the passenger side of the vehicle.

With Regards,
    Ed