Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie car classification

Default Newbie car classification

Hey all....I have been Autoxing for 2 years and would like to get into on track racing...the 'IT' series sounds somewhat inexpensive. I have a 1986 Honda Accord, 2 litre, sedan....From what i can tell it would be in ITB....Is this correct, and is this a decent car???? Also, where do i go to get the rule book for these classes....Thanks

First, WELCOME!! You'll love IT racing.

Second, rulebooks can be found either at your local region or direct from the SCCA at http://www.scca.org

Lastly, many people will tell you to consider buying a car already completed. This is an effective means to save money and to get on track faster. I recommend sitting down with a spreadsheet and adding up what it would take to build your car and how much time it would take. Then, double both these numbers. Then, determine if you want to built the car or if buying one is more appealing.

I built mine and, as a result, I know every nut and bolt of the car. My next car, however, will be purchased race ready, but I will take several months to completely disassemble and re-assemble the car...

Feel free to ask any questions. We will encourage you to purchase the GCR (general competition rules) and to read them thoroughly before going any further.

------------------
    Bill
    Planet 6 Racing
    bill (at) planet6racing (dot) com

Thanks Mr. Bill for the quick reply. As far as time to build a car, late next year is what i'm looking at, so that would give me a year(hopfully it wont take that long)?? Double everything huh! WOW!!!!!! Any opinions on the Accord??? Thanks again

//

I've posted all the current classings on my site at www.racerjake.com

Hopefully that helps.

You can now do stuff like clicking onto "Make" and sorting for "Accords" etc.