PDA

View Full Version : Care & Feeding of a Locked Diff

S2_ITBVW
04-09-2012, 09:45 AM
I am happily on my way to Chicago where, among other much less important business/family things, I will be picking-up my tranny with a locked differential. I have zero experience with this and do not want to break anything, so sage advice on the care and feeding of this "configuration" would be much appreciated. What do I need to be careful of in the paddock? What will I need to change on the track?

Thanks!

joeg
04-09-2012, 11:13 AM
Don't turn tight...need wide turns to prevent CV breakage.

Normal tranny fluid. The diff is locked so does not require special lubricant.

JLawton
04-09-2012, 11:23 AM
What will I need to change on the track?

You'll have much better turn in when you're on the throttle. More push when off. I think big sweepers is where you'll feel the affect the most. You have to feather the throttle a little to keep your bite. I liked a welded diff better than a Torsen or Quiafe. And better traction when you're up on two wheels...... ;)

Baby it when driving around the paddock..........

Knestis
04-09-2012, 11:42 AM
In terms of on-track performance, you're going to figure out pretty intuitively how it drives. You'll want to be FULLY on the throttle when it's time, and that's where you get the greatest return for the locked diff.

If you find yourself with any push sneaking into your life, you'll find that turning down toward the apex will haul you that direction. It'll cost you some speed but it will keep you from falling off the outside. If you are inclined to be a curb jumper, you'll get some return from the diff there as well, as the outside tire will keep dragging you around the corner rather than spinning away energy into the air.