PDA

View Full Version : New Guy

Andy69
03-21-2012, 09:55 AM
Howdy all. I just signed up.

I didn't see a welcome forum, so here I am.

I'll admit right off the bat I'm a complete noob. I've been thinking this was something I'd like to get into for a while now. I've been a car guy since I was 16 (30 years) and own a few classics. I have relatives that race and have for a while and have always followed with interest.

Well, my aunt retired from racing after last season and she has offered me her CRX. It's I think a 1985 and it's set up for ITB. It would be a package deal with a bunch of parts including a spare engine and at least one set of street wheels and one set race wheels. She asked me to name her a price and I have absolutely no idea. Looking around, prices are all over the place.

So in addition to saying hello:

1. what's a fair price and
2. what do I do with it once I get it?

This is the car she bought 20 years ago when she started and used it for autocross and then to get her competition license.

She might actually be a member of this forum, I have no idea :)

joeg
03-21-2012, 11:16 AM
Your Aunt wants you to give her money??

Tell her to make it a bDay or XMas present!

JLawton
03-21-2012, 01:27 PM
First of all, welcome to the madness!! Where are you from? This is probably one of the newb friendliest forums out there so don't worry about asking questions........... unless the first question: "Can I put a turbo charger, chrome bling and neon lights on it........."

To make a fair assesment we'd have ot know a little history of the car. But I would think unkown ITB cars would go in the $3K to $5K range?? But since you are related I would low ball the hell out of her!! ;)

Once you are to the point where you've made a decision or have bought the car, send me a PM and I'll walk you through the process. It can seem a little daunting by just reading the process on scca.com.