PDA

View Full Version : penske 7500

Richard.F
01-06-2012, 03:16 PM
I am wondering if anyone has tried the Penske 7500 double adjustable shocks on a NA Miata?

darbyfam
01-08-2012, 08:05 PM
I utilized a set built by Guy Ankeny on my NB. They were fantastic!! You can contact Guy througn Ankeny Racing Enterprises.

TStiles
02-06-2012, 09:57 PM
I utilized a set built by Guy Ankeny on my NB. They were fantastic!! You can contact Guy througn Ankeny Racing Enterprises.

Can you be a little more specific ?

I'm running the 1.8 SM suspension on my 95 , shocks were revalved by Bernie Stewart with his " ITA Shock Valving "

I think the car handles well , better than it did before the revalve. Car does not get upset on high speed sweeper bumps @ MSRH , stable under braking , transitions well but a little slow ( my background is SRF / FC / F440 , so I like it quick )

I'm trying to gain some insight into what makes the Penske 7500 ( or others ) better than my set up other than the fact that I can fine tune myself ( in or out ) when conditions change.

I keep hearing about guys spending big bucks on a shock package , my 1st reaction is " they must be nuts " , then I think " maybe they know something I don't "

Please school me as to why I should invest more into a shock package and what kind of gains I should expect :eclipsee_steering:

SMac92
02-06-2012, 10:57 PM
I also come from an open wheel background. I crewed for my dad's Reynard 1986 Reynard SF200 and raced a FV. Tons of money is spent on shocks in open wheel cars and I would assume in IT cars as well. The more money they cost, the more adjust-ability they have. My dad's FC had Penske doulbe adjustable shocks on them. Because they're adjustable (as opposed to just re-valved) the user (Crew/Driver) can fine tune the setup more to the drivers liking, track, or track condition.