PDA

View Full Version : Two driver regional ITS car?

Saeo
01-01-2012, 04:02 PM
Hello forum,

I am new to the road racing world, but I race autocross in the OVR region in Ohio. My brother and I are looking to expand our experience to some road racing. We have done some PDX and want to do some competition racing; so my question is twofold:

Is it possible to do a two driver ITS car but still get same amount of seat time in regional races? I know that they group some IT cars together, so do they accomodate two drivers?

Also, what do we have to do to gain a competetion license to road race?

Thanks again. I posed these questions to my local autocross club forum, but they suggested I ask on this forum.

-Joe

Simon T.
01-01-2012, 04:22 PM
Hello forum,

I am new to the road racing world, but I race autocross in the OVR region in Ohio. My brother and I are looking to expand our experience to some road racing. We have done some PDX and want to do some competition racing; so my question is twofold:

Is it possible to do a two driver ITS car but still get same amount of seat time in regional races? I know that they group some IT cars together, so do they accomodate two drivers?

Also, what do we have to do to gain a competetion license to road race?

Thanks again. I posed these questions to my local autocross club forum, but they suggested I ask on this forum.

-Joe

Run enduros, then you all can share the car, I don't see how it would work with sprint races unless you all swapped up race weekends. Maybe one weekend you crew the next he crews?

As for getting a license you need a race car of course (or you can rent one) and you need to go to a racing school. You can do a certified school like Skip Barber or do an SCCA school, the best is to find a double school weekend as that will get you the required permit to run your first few races. Here is some more detailed info: http://www.scca.com/clubracing/content.cfm?cid=44471