PDA

View Full Version : Question on windows and head lights

jrpayne
09-26-2011, 08:57 PM
I am new to ITC having just purchased a Datsun B210. In reading the GCR I see no regulations about removing glass door windows or headlights. My previous experience with the GCR is if it doesn't say you can do it, you can't. However, it seems odd to me that glass side windows and head lights that can break and cause injury would be required. Am I missing something in my read of the GCR? If so, where is it found as it does not appear in the IT regs section. My previous racing experience was in GT and production so this is new territory for me.
Thanks for the help.

Knestis
09-26-2011, 09:18 PM
You aren't missing anything. Window glass and headlights have to stay, unless you have door bars that protrude into the doors - at which point the door glass (only) may be removed. If you've got your visor down, there's no way auto glass will hurt you.

K

JoshS
09-26-2011, 09:59 PM
And headlights should be taped.

RacerBill
09-26-2011, 11:54 PM
I have door bars on the driver's side, so the glass is removed. But the passenger's side glass is still there. I put clear contact tape on both sides of the glass before I reinstalled it to contain the pieces if I ever get hit on the right side door.

joeg
09-27-2011, 07:05 AM
If you can get plastic headlights for your car, get them to save weight (and less mess if broken).

Gary L
09-27-2011, 07:22 AM
If you can get plastic headlights for your car, get them to save weight (and less mess if broken).
And as a bonus (unless the car had plastic headlights from the factory), in the right crowd, you might also have an opportunity to learn something about how the SCCA protest procedure works. :D

mossaidis
09-27-2011, 10:20 AM