PDA

View Full Version : 24 HRS of LEMONS

BruceG
03-30-2011, 08:50 AM
Everyone should watch this clip....LOL. SCCA tech inspectors would weep! Cars include a CRX lookalike with giant exhaust tubes hanging off the roof, a car with a Direct TV dish mounted on the side...and a great battle between a Sentra-R and a Rabbit(golf?.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yf8dRy8yYkE&feature=feedu

timo944
03-30-2011, 09:19 AM
I've done 3 of these at CMP. There are some great themes and some real comedy. Last time out we were "Monty Pythons Flying CRX" with a giant rabbit sticking it's head out of the hatch. The inspectors are well aware fo the dangers and actually handle things quite well, although they can be a bit over-bearing. They make the assumption that everybody is a complete newbie.

It's hard to do well, but you don't need power or handling, just relaibility and keep your nose clean. Any kind of crash can lose you the race due to the ridiculously long penalties (i.e. gather all of the children in the paddock to impound and recite Obama's "speech to school children" that got so much press in '09- a favorite).

It's good fun but gets old after a few tries. We might try again this year in September when it moves to Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Matt93SE
03-30-2011, 10:24 AM
It's amazing how fast the rgualrs are getting in their $500 cars.. The last race in Houston (Feb 25-26 ish) was running 1:56 lap times. That's decently quick for in IT car standards. (ITS lap record is 1:51 there) and they're doing it for 7 hours at a time.

Then there's the 1951 Mercedes battlewagon out there cruising at 40mph you have to dodge mid-corner. and it's as wide as the entire corner!

The first year, the "racing" was pretty atrocious since probably 80% of the people had never run W2W. ever.

3 years later, many of these guys have more seat time in heavy traffic than the average club racer.