PDA

View Full Version : Hubs for Civic?

Steven McWilliams Jr
11-27-2010, 08:47 PM
Hey everyone,

I need hubs for my '89 Civic Si and I cannot seem to find a place that has them. I can go to HPD, but I'd rather keep my left arm. I am just looking for stock replacements or re-manufactured ones. Does anybody have a place they order from?

Thanks,
Steven

mossaidis
11-28-2010, 01:00 AM
Here's one option.

http://raceshop.sbmsinc.com/

yet I have no personal experience. Talk to Tom B.

Gregg
11-28-2010, 01:10 AM
If you want non-OEM, I'm sure you can go a lot cheaper at a place like Olympus, however $115 (HPD's price) is better than you're gonna see at most dealerships that ship (like Majestic). As you probably know, the front hubs on an ITA Civic/CRX Si are known weak spots (especially after having the extra weight put on the car a few years ago) and untreated ones should be replaced every 1/2 season or so.

You'll likely get a longer lifespan from treated hubs for a quite a bit more money.

Steven McWilliams Jr
11-28-2010, 11:37 AM
Thanks guys, the Hubs from SBMS seem pretty decently priced, only $75 more per hub compared to Honda and I've heard they last forever.

Gregg- I did find real damage from the crash the other day. A Motor mount bolt hole elongated. Jim hit my wheel, then I assume that pushed the trans/engine over. I guess I should get a whole new set of mounts.

Steven

Gregg
11-28-2010, 09:41 PM
Tom's hardened hubs certainly will not last forever and I'd recommend changing them out every 1.5yrs (vs. every 0.5yrs) to be safe. Only you can decide whether that makes them more cost effective in your eyes.

As for the crash damage, it's a good thing that you found that now rather than later, but it's all part of the game we play and the cost of at least some repair should always be factored into your yearly racing budget.

raffaelli
11-29-2010, 01:38 AM