PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions - IT VW

NWIT
08-22-2010, 11:30 AM
The recent GRM articles are the Golf MK III have inspired me to build an IT VW. I've raced a Pro-7 Mazda and also a Volvo 240 in teh past but want to try my hand at putting together my own race car. Based on teh article, the VW seems to be a pretty straight forward build, probably suitable to my limited mechanical skills, certainly a good starting point to improve them.

I am just beginning to explore this idea and have a number of questions:

(1) The article focuses on the MK III, but is there a preference or recommendation as to the model or year for ITB? Mk II vs. MK III or GTI vs. non-GTI? I am looking to build a competative car but have no plans to sink my life's savings into it!!

(2) Am I correct that the IT rules allow 15" wheels for the Golf/Rabbit series? If so, is that preferred or our the standards spec series (13" or 14") a better choice?

(3) Are there any tire preference and/or sizes? I've had good luck with the Proxes RA-1 on my Mazda.

Thanks in advance - I know I'll have a lot more questions in teh futre!

Racerdog

Bill Miller
08-22-2010, 01:34 PM
I'm sure Kirk (and others) will chime in on this one. If you're looking at an A3 chassis car, make sure to check for rust! While those that have been here a while know I'm a fan of the A1 cars, they're getting much harder to find, not to mention more expensive. The open VIN rule makes it a bit easier, but not much. Not to mention that the Rabbit GTI got boned w/ the weight.

Others here (chois) run A2 cars, but again, getting harder to find. Youngest one is 20+ years old.

As Kirk mentioned in another thread, the A4 chassis is probably what I would look at if I were to build a new VW for ITB.

As far as the 13" or 14" wheels go, no reason to go that route unless you've already got an investment in inventory. LOTS of choices in 15 x 6 wheels out there. As far as tires, go for the purple crack!

NWIT
08-22-2010, 01:41 PM