PDA

View Full Version : Would this MR2 be an IT car?

xkaupx
01-26-2010, 05:37 PM
I'm new to IT racing and am looking to possibly pick up a car and go racing this year. One car I have my eyes on is an 86 MR2. It hasn't been classed in IT, but ran in GT-3 class under COMMA at the Hallett, OK track.
I have been searching around trying to get more details on the COMMA GT-3 class to see what that parallels with in SCCA.

From the COMMA rule book: "COMMA operates cars in
two broad categories: closed and open wheel. The Closed-wheel classes are:
GT1, GT2, GT3, Production Stock A (PA), Production Stock Super (PS),
SpecMiata (SM)"
I have found some people run IT cars in their GT-3 class, but not sure if it works the other way.

The seller bought this car already race prepared and it was reliable. They haven't had to put a new motor in or anything, but they do know that the motor has been replaced before. It has a few bolt ons, but nothing that seems out of place for an IT car to my knowledge. :shrug:

I like the MR2 platform, and it seems to be a reliable racer. I don't want to have to spend a whole lot of money on it though to get it into IT.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

tnord
01-26-2010, 05:42 PM
it looks like the dash has been replaced, not a legal modification for IT.

if you're not set on this particular car, i'm local to you and can help you find one.

email me anytime; [email protected]

xkaupx
01-26-2010, 06:16 PM
Good catch on the dash. That could be just the tip of the iceberg for all I know. I have yet to find COMMA GT-3 specs, so I have no idea what they allow.
I am not set on a particular vehicle (though I do think an MR2 would be fun). I would prefer rear wheel drive, but to get started I am mostly looking for something that is pretty solid that has available parts.

tnord
01-26-2010, 06:19 PM
how much are you looking to spend on a car and per season?

are you opposed to miatas? there's a decent BMW down here in KC for sale too.

xkaupx