PDA

View Full Version : What length Springs?

jimbbski
01-10-2010, 07:57 PM
I'm new to VW's but have been reading about VW car set up as various web sites. It seems that the prevailing thought is to run stiffer springs in the rear then in the front.
What i want to know is what length coil over springs do you use? I have some 8 inch & 9 inch, as well as a set of 10 inch. The rates on most of these are lower then what others have mentioned when giving their spring rates. What hasn't been mentioned is what length coil over spring to use. 8 inch in the front is good but I can see how I could also use a 10 inch.

Just looking for some first hand experience so that I can then start looking for some springs.

Lael Cleland
01-10-2010, 08:19 PM
you can run 8-10 in the back, but front 6 or 7 is the best.... If you use a GC camber plate it adds an inch... 8inch are ok if you run the car high, but the tire and the spring seat are very close....Ya need -3,3.5 camber, with out camber plates the tire will hit the strut...camber plates let you go + camber at the knuckle, to get the wheel away from the strut, and the go - camber with the camber plate....I have 8s on my scirocco, but my rabbit has 6s and I like the extra clearance... If you end up using the camber/knuckle adjustment to get the wheel away form the strut you end up maxing out the camber plate, then you have to adjust it @ knuckle....Its a pain in the ass...defeating the purpose of a camber plate........
We made 4 sets of weld-in camber plates....better than the BSIs, not as nice as Ground Control....

Every one has a diffrent openion.......I like front sway bars! I am the only one???....And 550lb front 400lb rear....I used a stock rear 16V sway bar in my rabbit, and love it!

jimbbski
01-11-2010, 01:33 PM
I am in the middle of building a set of caster/camber plates. I intend to cut the strut opening bigger to install these. I can make then adjustable for caster or camber, but not both.