PDA

View Full Version : new guy tire question

kyle robertson
06-16-2009, 03:33 PM
im sure this is a dumb question but i have no idea, I am completely new to ITA and new to setting up my own car. previously i raced some races in the skip barber mx5 cup where i didnt have to prepare/set up anything. I bought a relativly well sorted '90 ITA miata with a 1.6. I was wondering what the best reasonably priced tire is for the class and what a general baseline psi should be in south florida where its very hot. i have already done a quick search and read the rulebook throughly, but i havent really come up with a straight answer. thanks in advance!

Greg Amy
06-16-2009, 03:42 PM
You need to decide where "reasonably-priced" crosses over into "too damn much". That crossing point is directly correlated to "not fast but lasts forever" and "shit hot but I gotta replace 'em every few weekends."

For the most part, the most-supported tire in the Miata is the Toyo RA-1. Spec Miata runs 'em, so you can pretty much find all you need to know on those from that group. Plus, they're probably the cheapest within the commonly-used race tires (we tend to ignore outliers like Avon and such).

Next up in performance is the Kumho. Bit cheaper than 'Kooks, and they have a contingency program. Not too much faster than Toyo, I hear.

Next common option is the Hankook Ventus. ~10% cheaper than Hoosiers, similar performance. Their supply chain sucks, though.

Generally-accepted fast tire is the purple glue, Hoosier. Also most expensive. Also tend to tolerate fewer cycles before going "off".

Pick your poison...

ITA_honda
06-16-2009, 03:57 PM
Im with Mr. Greg Amy on this one too.

Toyo's are popular with the Miata crowd

Kumho is a good tire, very consistant all the way across the board. I use Kumho's on my ITA Honda Civic.

Ive never tried Hankook's before...