PDA

View Full Version : 240z Brake Pad Question

Tom Donnelly
06-06-2009, 09:40 AM
Well, I'm just about out of my sets of Hawk HT 9 riveted pads for my 240z. I've heard Hawk doesn't make the HT 9's anymore. What pads are y'all running now?

Tom

pablo
06-06-2009, 10:06 AM
Poterfield R-4 seem to be ok for me no initial bite stops good easy on the rotors

Ron Earp
06-06-2009, 11:03 AM
Carbotechs. Most of the Z guys I know are using those, at least those racing around the VIR/CMP/RRR area. 10s seem to work well, I have used 12s and like those, and Parrish was going to try a set of 8s and let me know how those go.

12 > 10 > 8 with respect to brake torque. No ill effects on rotors with the 12s, even at CMP. I'm sure there are other pads that will work well too. I've been using Carbotechs for about four years and enjoy their service as well as the product.

Tom Donnelly
06-06-2009, 11:08 AM
Thanks. Anybody running the Hawks ht10's?

betamotorsports
06-06-2009, 11:24 AM
HT10s are going away from what I understand. Replaced by DTC60/70. Porterfield can make pretty much any pad shape out of any pad material they sell. I've run the DTC70s on my 350Z and they are wonderful. I like them better the PFC 01s.

x-ring
06-08-2009, 09:20 AM
I'm using (or I will be if I ever get the car back on track) Hawk Blues. I tried some compound Porterfield but didn't see much difference WRT the blues. The tracks around here aren't particularly hard on brakes.

The roters don't last long usiing blues.

pballance
06-08-2009, 11:19 AM
Tom, I am running the 10's. Seem to work well for me. If they go away I will try Blues and/or carbotech.

Wish you could make it to NSS but I understand the $$$. It is a fun track, keeps you busy. I hope Randy Shedd makes it so I can at least have someone to try and run with (if he doesn't run and hide from me :) )

ITZ34
06-08-2009, 01:24 PM