PDA

View Full Version : Renting as a Fundraising Method

dyoungre
01-27-2009, 08:18 PM
As my family is rapidly growing, I'm finding the need to be more creative about raising funds to go racing. I'm entertaining the thought of renting out my ITA car for drivers' school, maybe for a race or two to qualify a racer. I've never done it before, so thought I'd ask - what sort of experiences, good and bad, and lessons learned have people had? What is the going rate to suggest, if 'rental' includes tire use, fuel use, and crew?

Knestis
01-27-2009, 08:52 PM
Speaking from almost 25 years of renting experience...

** Do the real math. You need to recapture a portion of the price of the car, annual service, PLUS all of the obvious expenses. If you don't, you'll be spending your family's money to support someone else's racing. I frankly get a little tired of having renters tell me that they can race their own car for 1/5th of what I have to charge. That simply tells me that they don't know what their racing actually costs.

** You need to assign some value to your time, if you're working on the car yourself, or the cost of whatever work you need to have done. You might discover that working a part-time job or doing some overtime puts you money ahead once you do all the math.

** Get a real deposit. I take a $2000 damage down payment. I've had more than a few drivers want me to "hold the check" or some similar deal. That tells me that they aren't actually liquid enough to pay for repairs when they bend/break something.

** Make sure all parties know the expectations. The short story with our program is, "if it breaks while you're driving it, you pay to fix it." It doesn't matter what or why.