PDA

View Full Version : New to Hondas. road racing, and IT

boywonder
01-27-2009, 01:19 AM
I just bought my first track car, and first Honda - an ITC '85 CRX.
Since this is my first Honda I don't really know all the best Honda specific forums and would appreciate it if someone could share them. Also, where is the best place to find body panels, namely all the brittle plastic on the front of the car?

Thanks!

Chip42
01-27-2009, 08:46 AM
I'm not 100% on the pre-1988 models, and I know that the plastic nose and fenders can be a real PitA to find, but for anythign else, try redpepperracing.com and welcome to the party!

Steam Corners
01-27-2009, 10:45 AM
I noticed your other post, and saw you're from Columbus--as am I! While I'm no Honda expert, I've worked on several, though I'm building an ITA Miata slowly as my first car.

I hit a lot of the local junkyards, and I've found that Woody's on McKinley Ave. tends to have a few 1st Gen CRXs every once in a while. Cantley's might have some to pull stuff from too. If you'd like, get me a list of what you might need, and I could check for you next time I go.

Heck, if you just need a hand, I might be able to help you out. . .

R2 Racing
01-27-2009, 11:14 AM
I replied to your other thread in the General Discussion area, but I'll answer a couple of the questions you've got here too....

Like Chris said above, finding those plastic nose pieces for the first-gen CRX's can be real tough. Yes, Woody's for some reason likes to get old Honda's like that, so maybe keep an eye out there. If you're not familiar with the place, bring wadding boots and get a tetanus shot before going - haha! redpepperracing.com is a great resource for finding old Honda parts and asking questions to old Honda guys. roadraceautox.com is another than many of us are on as well where there's lots of IT Honda racers who will be willing to help out. Good luck!

mc-integra111
01-27-2009, 12:09 PM