PDA

View Full Version : First set of tires

alexpq
01-21-2009, 06:20 PM
Hi,

I am just starting out racing this year in an ITB VW Rabbit GTI. The car came with a set of Hoosier R6's (205/55/ZR14), with not much left on them. I basically plan to use them for drivers school and maybe my first race. But, just to be prepared I am shopping for my first new set now in case I incur a problem.

I am not looking to be incredibly fast, and am looking for a tire that will have good longevity, and be a bit more budget friendly than the R6.

At first, I thought the Kumho V710 might be a good option, but then I saw that it preforms best with up to -1.5 degrees of camber. The car is currently set up with -3 degrees for the hoosier, and for just starting off, I am not looking to do many suspension adjustments.

Any advice for me?

thanks,
Alex

JimLill
01-21-2009, 06:30 PM
If you're just starting out........ one thing to consider is what do you do if you have a wet track? A set of RA1 would work all around

lateapex911
01-21-2009, 06:57 PM
Toyos seem to fill lots of needs well, but do nothing really well...which is ideal for a guy just getting his feet wet.

But, get used to alignment changes, LOL. I'm not sure what the Toyos like, but if it's different from the Hoosiers don't let that stand in your way...buddy up with somebody at the track, and they'll show you how to align things..it's really not all that hard. Just remember that toe can change when camber is changed on certain cars.

Welcome to the site and to IT racing! Where are you from?..we'll dispatch an IT.com VW expert to your first race...(kidding, but don't be shocked if you get some friendly help)
Scratch the question, you're from MI. Vaughan Scott probably knows who you should talk to in that neck of the woods.

splats
01-21-2009, 08:10 PM