PDA

View Full Version : Is this cage IT legal?

civic44
12-21-2008, 11:12 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v319/44civic/P1010021.jpg

I am in the process of converting my Touring car to an ITS car. Ideally, I would like to not have to modify the cage.

As you can see, there is no bracing in the plane of the main hoop. There is an X in the plane of the two tubes heading back from the top of the hoop and a second X half way down the vertical tubes of the main hoop. I have been running in Canadian FIA events with this cage since 2004 and the car is log-booked with EMRA as well.

My understanding is that it is OK not to have diagonal bracing in the plane of the main hoop if you have it in the rear tubes. I'm not sure about the harness bar though. The bar for my harness is in the upper X, not in the main hoop. This is useful as I'm tall and sit quite far back and I don't have to have a curved harness bar as you sometimes see.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Gary L
12-22-2008, 12:16 AM
I honestly don't know about the rest of it without reading the latest rule changes, but in the photo I definitely see a possibility of too many cage-to-chassis attachment points (8 maximum in IT).

Andy Bettencourt
12-22-2008, 12:18 AM
I honestly don't know about the rest of it without reading the latest rule changes, but in the photo I definitely see a possibility of too many cage-to-chassis attachment points (8 maximum in IT).

Actually, call it 6 with 2 optional forward tubes. That center point in the picture will certainly be an issue.

Speed Raycer
12-22-2008, 03:18 AM
Yep, the lower X to the subframe/diff area will have to go. Per the new rules, you're ok on the diagonal IF the upper X meets the tubing requirements... they could be thinner walled or smaller diameter tube.

Personally, I'd throw in a traditional diagonal in the plane of the main hoop and add a harness bar in there anyway.

ewaugh
01-16-2009, 09:34 PM
Wasn't there a provision in the rules for FIA approved cages?