PDA

View Full Version : Suspension setup on my FC RX-7...

VinnyV81
11-19-2008, 09:13 AM
Hello all,

I am a newbie to the site and new to the sport. So with that being said, I have a few questions about the setup on my car.

I went to a PDX a few months ago and it was my first time in a RWD car. On the second lap of my very first session, I managed to spin out 180 degrees and go off the track 4 wheels into the grass.

I know that it was probably because I am new to this type of car that it was probably the reason why I went off, but I also remember the car going sideways and feeling that no matter how quick I got on the wheel to correct it, I felt like I had NO control of the car as it was coming around.

I did have an experience later on in the day where the car got a little unsettled in another turn, and I was able to recover-but I was wondering if there was anything I could do to the setup to make it a little more predictible should this situation ever come up again.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

-Vincent.

pballance
11-19-2008, 01:41 PM
Check this thread for some input Vincent. Good luck.!

http://www.improvedtouring.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23955&highlight=camber

Eagle7
11-19-2008, 01:42 PM
Hee hee. Boy does that sound familiar. Been there, more times than I care to remember. This car is known for oversteer issues.

IMO, this is a difficult issue for someone starting out to get a handle on. Lots of possibilities.
Car setup issues:

Is the rear steer mechanism defeated? From the factory, the suspension adds rear toe-out under side loading. You want to eliminate this.
Are all your suspension members straight? I had a bent rear toe link.
Is your rear toe set to at least 1/8" toe-in?
Have you checked the rear thrust angle?
Is your rear swaybar removed? Most of us run without one.
Spring rates? Mine are 400F 275R.
Cornerweights?
Tire pressures? I have to reduce my rear tire pressure by 3 PSI to tame the oversteer.