PDA

View Full Version : Piston Ring Options

Z3_GoCar
07-27-2008, 05:10 PM
My plan for my motor is a ring/bearing/valve job, with a new oil pump. I talked to my mechanic, Kevin Macdonald at Mac's Performance, and he recommended the Total Seal Rings. I had considered them untill I heard that they actually reduce hp due to ring drag, this from a guy who found an extra 14 hp in a 2.0ltr FF motor. I might not want to use the rings he choose because they only last for 4 hours, but there have to be several good low-tension options out there other than Total-Seal. If it's something you don't want spread all across the www, I'd appreciate a pm.

James.

As an aside, I enjoyed getting togeather with Dave Gran, and Greg Amy last Wednesday.

iambhooper
07-27-2008, 08:44 PM
I'm not an expert engine builder, but I can't imagine the Total Seal rings robbing too much power. I compete against several well built motors that I know ue TS rings.

I would be more concerned about what your builder is doing to your motor that the rings last only 4 hours.

hoop

Ron Earp
07-27-2008, 09:03 PM
I would be more concerned about what your builder is doing to your motor that the rings last only 4 hours.
hoop

I'd second that. I've used Total Seal to good effect.

Matt Rowe
07-27-2008, 09:17 PM
Look at it this way. If you were only getting four hours out of an engine you care more about absolute horsepower than a few tenths of horsepower lost due to ring tension. However the typical IT car is likely to want more than a weekend or two out of an engine.
At which point I would rather have the improved ring seal over a full season or two of racing between rebuilds.

Now if there were any rules nerds left they would tell me my car isn't fully prepped but those guys are long gone. I sleep fine at night with leak down numbers my motor still shows.

Sandro
07-27-2008, 09:34 PM