PDA

View Full Version : Rain tires??

wepsbee
02-27-2008, 12:39 PM
I am new to SCCA ITA racing and have completed only 2 races last yaer. This year we are looking forward to an entire year of schools and racing. One item that I do not have and am unclear on what to get is a good rain tire. I have a couple of opinions but only 1 from a real racer. I will be using a 205/50/15 size. What do you guys think is a good rain tire in my class?

lateapex911
02-27-2008, 12:52 PM
For real rain, dirt stockers. NLA though, AFAIK.
Real rain 2nd choice, Hoosier "molded" rain. Their current rain offering
Intermediate conditions, possibly shaved version of the above.
Damp, dark pavement, but not shiny at all, your usual Dry tire.

iambhooper
02-27-2008, 01:04 PM
There are at least 2 options available as rains... the Hoosier Dirt Stocker is a popular choice, but they do tend to wear down quicker o the drying surface, and the Toyo RA1 Full tread. This tire has great tread life.

No more than any of us actually get to race in the rain, I suggest buying whatever fits your budget.

Hope this helps.

rsx858
02-27-2008, 01:40 PM
My first choice would be the hoosier rain tires. I however run a full tread Toyo RA1 because the Hoosiers are too expensive for my taste. If your on a budget like me, the RA-1's have execllent tread life as mentioned above.

The classic choice is the dirt stocker, however from what i undrestand, this tire works best in heavy rain and not at all in the dry. what i like about the toyo is that it will work in any condition.

-also the size you mentioned i believe is the spec miata size. so if you do decide to go with the toyo, the tire will be readilly available at the track.

JLawton
02-27-2008, 02:03 PM