PDA

View Full Version : 1st Gen RX-7 Springs.What rates?

rxracer96
02-17-2008, 04:13 PM
What kind of rates are you guys running? Way back when the numbers were 300fr/175rear.Im up to 450fr/275re and Im thinking of going higher.This is with 1 1/8 front bar.I see some of you are running a stock bar.Looking for some input.Thanks

lateapex911
02-18-2008, 11:48 AM
before going higher, consider chassis frequency, and most importantly, damper capability.

tom_sprecher
02-18-2008, 12:32 PM
I'm running 350F/200R springs, 28mmF/stockR bars and Tokicos. Don't take anything I say as advice since I'm new at driving and too slow at this point but have lots of great learning experiences ahead so I've got that going for me. ;)

ddewhurst
02-18-2008, 02:07 PM
rxracer96, what are you trying to cure with your car? Oversteer, understeer?

Past 1st gener:023:

Tak
02-19-2008, 02:24 AM
400F and 275 rear. 1.25 x .188 wall front tubular bar and no rear bar. I too would consider stiffer coils (and a softer sway bar), but I am very unhappy with the quality of ANY rear spring over 200# for the Gen 1. Don't try this with Tokikos! If you have a decent spring source, I want to hear about it!

Tak
#29 ITA SFR

tom_sprecher
02-19-2008, 11:37 AM
I've heard the Tokico's are only good up to 450# up front and 300# in the rear. I need to get some more springs and play around. What other shocks and struts are available that won't cost me an arm and a leg?

As far as springs go what is the problem you have had with the rear coils over 200#? Have you tried http://www.bluecoilspring.com/?

mustanghammer
02-19-2008, 02:20 PM
Currently:

400 Front and 250 Rear
RB Front sway bar, no rear bar
Koni SA 2810 racing struts front and Pro Shocks WB735 rear
tri-link w/panhard bar