PDA

View Full Version : RR double drivers school

wcmcarlos
02-05-2008, 10:28 PM
:026: YAHOO ! It's over and done !
I am now signed off to run regionals.
I was only Neon there, and it all went just too perfect.
:eclipsee_steering:Now I am a race driver, for the first time in 30 years.
My first drivers school was a regional race at an old airport near Kissimmee Florida.
That was in 1961,, yes, I said 1961, the last century!

Back to Roebling, six and a half hours of track time over three days, first hour of track time in pouring rain, on slicks, [kumho 710's] the rest in brilliant sunshine.
No matter, there is one long straight, and the rest of the two miles is constant turning.
So with massive trailing throttle oversteer:o I was trying to keep the front end pointed in the right direction.
Only spun twice, got the clutch in both times, went on.
I need some serious chassis set up work.
at a minit and a half per lap, and six hours of track time,, how many laps did I run?
I need to talk to Chris, see if I can get a little less OVERSTEER if I am to ever run that track in real competition.
Carlos,
P.S.
I stopped at a campgroung about 8 miles from the track Sunday night, and slept 12 hours!

splats
02-05-2008, 11:25 PM
Carlos,
Are you going to be at Sebring?? Nigel wasn't sure of your plans. Come play with us.. AS LONG AS YOU DON'T MAKE ME THE SLOWEST NEON OUT THERE .....

As far as handling, I had to lower my rear air-pressure & fill-up the gas tank to tighten-up mine. It was a little hairy for the back-end to jump-out in turn one at Sebring.

Kolin Aspegren
02-06-2008, 11:07 AM
Congrats on finishing the school in one piece, car setup sounds perfect to me. Keep it loose.

k

pballance
02-06-2008, 11:11 AM