PDA

View Full Version : Haltech Engine Management System

JeffYoung
12-09-2007, 06:58 PM
Anybody heard of this system? They make a plug and play, with harness!, for my newly acquired FI set up. Would save me a lot of time and trouble.

I'm brand new to EMS systems. If anybody has any experience with them, are they as tuneable as a Megasquirt or Motec?

Dave Burchfield
12-09-2007, 07:18 PM
Yes, and they come in two iterations, fuel only and fuel and spark. I have a bit of experience with the fuel only system which is a pretty fair control. One of my cars came with the system on it and I am not certain whether I will use it or Chris Ludwig's system. By the way, Chris is also a Haltec dealer.

seckerich
12-09-2007, 08:01 PM
Make sure that plug and play harness comes with a base program for your car. If not is is not much better than starting from scratch. You have no idea what you do not know until you start messing with stand alone systems. Don't ask how I know. :D

JeffYoung
12-09-2007, 08:07 PM
It does come with base maps for the Rover V8, that and the harness are why I am getting it.

I no NOTHING about these damn things.......

Ed Funk
12-09-2007, 08:16 PM
:024: Just make sure there's a place to get the vacuum line in! :dead_horse:

JeffYoung
12-09-2007, 08:34 PM
This is the triple vacuum line model!

Aussie based too. Throw the EMS on the barbie!

Z3_GoCar
12-09-2007, 11:04 PM
Jeff,

Fa-get-about the vacume line, mount the sensor in the manifold. The EGR control port might be a good location.

tbtapper
12-10-2007, 10:28 AM
Since us "po" folks is now able to venture into the world of tuneable electronic EMS one thing you will definitely require, IMO, will be a a wide band AFR meter.

It's true you can go to a dyno shop and spend hours on the dyno getting the AFR/timing maps correct FOR THAT DAY ON THAT DYNO.