PDA

View Full Version : Sound Deadener Removal

eiwoh316
11-13-2007, 10:43 PM
Hello,

I'm new to the IT area, but have been doing other odd racing here and there. I'm begining to prep a car, and have been studying the rules diligently. One thing I have notice is that people remove the melted on sound insulators on the floors. However, I cannot find that in the rules where the removal is approved. Can somebody tell me where this is.

The last thing I want to do is spend the next couple months prepping a car, only for it to be illegal.

Thanks

mbuskuhl
11-13-2007, 11:00 PM
Welcome.

9.1.3.D.9.f. "Carpets, center consoles, floor mats, headliners, sun roof liner and frame, dome lights, grab handles, and their insulating, attaching or operating mechanisms may be removed."

joeg
11-14-2007, 08:29 AM
Actually a fairly miserable job to remove...

JeffYoung
11-14-2007, 08:56 AM
What did Kirk call this? Initiation into race car ownership?

One of those nasty things we all have to go through to actually become racers.

Do some searches on here, the topic comes up frequently as the best way to remove this stuff (dry ice, heat guns, some Home Depot citrus product).

Greg Amy
11-14-2007, 09:13 AM
Actually a fairly miserable job to remove...[/b]
...and, if you're a bit light and may need to add weight, this stuff way down low is a great place to have it...

RacerBowie
11-14-2007, 09:19 AM
...and, if you're a bit light and may need to add weight, this stuff way down low is a great place to have it...
[/b]

But the stuff inside the car just looks SOOOO crappy. Media blasting is the way to go!

shwah
11-14-2007, 10:14 AM
[/b]
...and it sucks to realize this AFTER you have finished the dirty job, and have to go find a source to get it and put it back in :bash_1_:

Greg Gauper
11-14-2007, 10:44 AM
Some cars are easier than others for some reason...