PDA

View Full Version : Neon Suspension School

cjb25hs
10-11-2007, 08:44 AM
Here is what I have and what my plans are, looking for a little guidance.

I bought a 95ACR sedan setup for Nasa Spec neon, the car has the 22mm swaybars front and rear, Konis on the front and blown out Arvins on the rear with the Mopar high rate springs. My plans are to run ITA next year and obtain my license and run maybe a double regional.

My question is what rear shocks should I go with new Konis, used Konis or used Arvins, I know the konis would be adjustable but how do they compare to the Arvins and what kind of settings should I start with if I were to go with the konis front and rear. Currently the fronts have been sent about a half a turn from full firm.

Alignment I would be looking for about 2 to 3 negative front around 1 to 1.5 negative rear with zero toe all around.

Any help or suggestions would be great to a neon noob, I have been autocrossing for about 17 years and have done several track days so looking to make the leap to real fun.

Chris

Greg Amy
10-11-2007, 08:50 AM
Neon (and any other strut-equipped car) suspension tips:

1) Buy the best and most expensive shocks you can afford
2) Build the suspension around that
3) Go back to step one and buy better ones.
4) Rinse, lather, repeat.

I'm serious. The core to making your can handle is dampers, dampers, dampers. "Arvin"? Never heard of 'em. But I can certainly attest to the Konis.

BTW, I hear Greg Mendle is working on a suspension based on the Koni 8611s, which are probably the best compromise between all-out suspension (Koni 2817s at $1500+ per corner) and crap (AGX, anything bolt-on, etc). He'll pipe in here soon, I'm sure, with more details. - GA

Rabbit07
10-11-2007, 09:42 AM
Neon (and any other strut-equipped car) suspension tips:

1) Buy the best and most expensive shocks you can afford
2) Build the suspension around that
3) Go back to step one and buy better ones.
4) Rinse, lather, repeat.