PDA

View Full Version : dual classification

RSTPerformance
10-09-2007, 09:38 AM
additional thoughts...

I could change my mind on how it should be done, but I do think it should be a more used option...

Raymond

erlrich
10-09-2007, 12:15 PM
I really do like the idea of allowing cars to run in higher classes - the only caveot I could see is that they would need to be permitted to make use of class-specific allowances (e.g. ITB cars could run 7" wheels in ITA, ITS cars could run 8.5" wheels in ITR). Is there a potential downside to this?

BlueStreak
10-09-2007, 12:31 PM
You left out a solution to my pet problem - I'm in a no expense spared STRIPPED to the bone car that has a weight req of 2080. As a 250lb driver, I can't get under 2148. I'd love to have a new practical (for me) weight target and just run some ballast and move from ITB to ITC.

To put it simply, create an optional spec weight that I can ballast up to and run in ITC instead of ITB.

I'm not whining, the process is working extremely well, and I will continue to troll around the back of ITB on those rare weekends when work and family permit.

I'm just suggesting that creating an option to allow people who want to ballast up and run a class slower does not seem like a tough option to provide to people.

Knestis
10-09-2007, 02:52 PM
Ack.

Rather than asking people how they want to DO dual classification, how about a serious discussion to try to define what problem it is supposed to be solving?

Until/unless that is made blindingly clear, there's no way to tell if the policy is a success, someone is always going to be able to find fault in it, and it will be ripe for re-purposing resulting in unintended consequences and rules creep.

K

keycom
10-09-2007, 05:14 PM