PDA

View Full Version : Best oil/weight for RX7 running in the SE

Shannon1530
09-29-2007, 10:42 AM
I was just wondering what is the best oil/weight/dyno/synthentic combination for a car participating in ITA/IT7 events in the SE?

Mike Guenther
09-29-2007, 01:47 PM
Several years ago, the late Karl Sloan, who was a highly regarded rotary engine builder in the SE, told me to only use Valvolene VR1, 20W50 oil in a newly rebuilt engine I bought from him. It was a 12A motor and it ran very strong. Karl recommended fossil oil over synthetic in rotaries because it is mixed via the oil metering pump with the fuel and burned.

I have used VR1 in a couple of 13Bs and piston motors too, ever since. Bought a case yesterday.

I change my engine oil and filter after every race weekend. I use Purolator Pure One filters.

Mike Spencer
09-30-2007, 08:37 PM
I'm no expert, but FWIW I have been running the Valvoline VR1. Only I've used the 10W40 (when I could find it). The oil pressure in my 12A normally crests 100 psi under load, so going to 20W50 seems a little counter-intuitive.

In the North Carolina area it's getting harder to find 10W40 so I've been pondering what to go to next. All my fellow IT7 racers seem to run something different, so I really don't know what I'll be using in 2008. :blink:

Watching this thread with great interest....

CaptainWho
10-01-2007, 09:33 AM
When we got our first RX-7, the owner told us he only ran Shell Rotella T 15W40, so that's what we ran. We had several folks concur with that choice afterwards, so we've stuck with it. I wouldn't want to go up much higher on viscosity, since we get 100 psi easily at race RPMs with the Rotella.

tom_sprecher
10-01-2007, 03:22 PM
Valvoline VR1, 20W50 in crankcase. Belray, Motul or Klotz in the gas at 80:1.

C. Ludwig
10-01-2007, 05:20 PM