PDA

View Full Version : A1 vs. A2

chewy8000
07-28-2007, 01:27 AM
I am picking up an ITB A1 next weekend and was curious what the pros and cons were for the A1 and A2. I did a ton of research on each and decided to go with the A1. I noticed the A2 is heavier but most of the A1's I looked at for sale were running faster times. I know alot of it depends on the driver, but I just didn't find to many well developed A2's for sale in my price range. I'm a novice with my first school in Oct. and just hope I made the right decision with the A1.

Thanks
T

jlinfert
07-28-2007, 06:54 AM
Personally I think an A3 Golf, properly developed, will be the car to beat in ITB. Especially if the new ECU rules go into effect. Having said that, the A2 is probably a better B car than an A1. Certainly body parts and such are MUCH easier to find. and 10 to 1 compression is nice too!

JimLill
07-28-2007, 09:23 AM
Personally I think an A3 Golf, properly developed, will be the car to beat in ITB. Especially if the new ECU rules go into effect. Having said that, the A2 is probably a better B car than an A1. Certainly body parts and such are MUCH easier to find. and 10 to 1 compression is nice too!
[/b]

Parts are easier on an A2 (but getting harder)

A2 has more structural strength

chewy8000
07-28-2007, 11:57 AM
The A3 would be awesome but more expensive. I will eventually try to build one later on. I spoke to the junkyard man down the road that I have gotten to know real well from pulling parts and he has 4 or 5 A1 spares to pull from so parts should be fine.

zracre
07-28-2007, 06:42 PM
The A1 is an awesome choice for ITB...they are still relatively competitive and you will learn alot driving it...welcome to the madness!

BlueStreak
07-28-2007, 07:47 PM
I picked an A1 as my second IT car. My first was an ITA RX-3 that I screwed up and sold after I thought I was retiring.