PDA

View Full Version : Could a formula work?

Eagle7
06-25-2007, 08:29 PM
I'm getting pretty weary with all the hubbub about which stock HP to use when classing a car, and what subjective evaluation to apply to that HP to properly class the car. It got me thinking again - could a formula work?

I'm an engineer, and if I've learned anything in the last 40 years it's that physics is pretty darn predictable. I don't know much about what does and what doesn't make HP, but there are a lot of you out there that do. I'm totally convinced that given enough information about the design of an engine, a good engineer could calcuate its potential HP in IT trim within a pretty tight tolerance - maybe 1 or 2 percent? If that's the case, it seems like a much better approach than guessing how much gain a particular model would achieve over stock HP.

If you could set a formula for engine HP, I'm confident you could also do it for all the other adders and subtractors. Ideally we'd end up with a published formula that anyone could use to calculate the weight of any car of interest.

So, you gearheads and mechanical engineers out there, how say you?
Is it possible to accurately calculate the HP potential of an engine from publicly known design information? If not, can you cite examples?
Is it feasible to perform this calculation for the full set of IT cars?
Is it feasible to calculate the other adders and subtractors of interest?
If all this is feasible, would it be a better system than using stock published HP?

GKR_17
06-25-2007, 09:36 PM
Short answer no.

A formula was proposed a few years ago, and even though there was a significant amount of work, it still had enormous holes. There's just no way to get enough acurate data for every car. Heck, look at SM, they only have 2 chassis options, and 3 basic engines to work with and they still debate the spec weights.