PDA

View Full Version : steering wheel

88YB1
04-10-2007, 10:18 AM
As the title says what diameter steering wheel works best? 13, 14, or 15 inch. Obviously a 13" wheel will steer faster, and a 15" wheel will be easier to turn. I drive a 2600 lb car, and looking for a little feed back.

Chuck

benspeed
04-10-2007, 10:28 AM
I like a 15 inch - slow hands are a good thing - a smaller wheel makes the driver jerk more on turn in. Slow hands = smoother turn it. I remember being at Lowes MS watching the cup guys teaching their kids to drive the legend cars and one guy had put a bus steering wheel in to make his kid control his turn in better.

charrbq
04-10-2007, 11:11 AM
The smaller wheel creats more turns lock to lock. Just as a smaller tire changes the final drive ratio.

88YB1
04-10-2007, 11:51 AM
Thanks for the replys. Since I am a realitivly a new driver I need all the help I can get, and since smoother IS faster I will go with the larger wheel.

Thanks
Chuck

Gary L
04-10-2007, 12:02 PM
The smaller wheel creats more turns lock to lock. Just as a smaller tire changes the final drive ratio. [/b]

I respectfully disagree strongly... a smaller steering wheel creates a force ratio change, but there is no change in lock-to-lock turns.

charrbq
04-10-2007, 12:08 PM
You're right, I wasn't thinking. It's a thing with busier hands, not a ratio. My bad.

tom_sprecher
04-10-2007, 12:17 PM
I'm glad you asked this question as I felt my turns were jerky with the 13" that was on the car. I have a 15" just like it and I am going to ry that next.

Thanks.

RacerBill
04-10-2007, 12:21 PM
You don't see those REAL race car drivers in NASTAXI (ooppss - NASCAR) using those sissy F1 wheels, do ya? :D :D :D

Knestis
04-10-2007, 12:31 PM
http://www.it2.evaluand.com/gti/images/mk3.2/interior.JPG

I use a smaller wheel than in some IT cars but I have power steering.