PDA

View Full Version : Telescoping Steering Column on my 1st Gen

ITS5GB
12-10-2006, 04:41 PM
My IT7 car that I spent the last 3 years cobbling together suddenly developed a telescoping effect with the steering cloumn. Happened the last race weekend at Waterford Hills. I know it probably has something to do with the engineered collapsable steering column built in for crash safety but what are my options now to fix it. You can pull as hard as you want and it won't come out but I'm not really interested in racing it like it is, not only for my safety but for my fellow competitors. Any suggestions?

dickita15
12-10-2006, 06:02 PM
Mine has done that every since I welded on the QR steering wheel adapter. I am told that I melted a plastic shear pin it the crush mechanism. I too will be curious if there is a fix but I have been racing it this way for 8 years.

instigator
12-10-2006, 10:25 PM
unfortunatly the only fix is to replace the steering box with the shaft. Most of use weld the steering wheel quick release adapter to the shaft you can not get the shaft sleeve off to repair the shear pin on the shaft .
Good luck on the replace ment of the steering gear . I have had to pull engines on some cars to replace that steering box.

Kurt IT7 00 & 59

crushed
12-10-2006, 10:51 PM
If you can pull the outer steering column off the shaft with your quick release adapter you can just tack weld the shaft in place. That happened to me once too, since we have harnesses, helmets, and hans there really isn't much need for a collapsible steering column anyway.

ddewhurst
12-11-2006, 03:21 PM