PDA

View Full Version : Calling all Z driver's

pballance
12-08-2006, 09:16 AM
It has been a little dead in here lately so how about some advise from the sage's for a noob.

I will be entering the world of SEDIV ITS with a 240z next year and while I am new to W2W, I am not new to the the Z or motorsports. Most of my high speed driving was done over a 25 year period in a Crown Vic interceptor :P .

I am trying to put together a list of spares to head to the track with. Other than the usual brake pads/shoes/fluids, etc. what are the common failure points on a race prepped Z?

I have half shafts that I plan on bringing, but what else should I bring along as well? Lower control arms?, front crossmember and rack? Give me some ideas so I can see if I already have them or have some time to get them.

Thanks in advance,
Paul :biggrinsanta:

dspillrat
12-08-2006, 10:07 AM
Hi Paul,
Welcome to the world of ITS....
My Spares package includes:
Tranny, 1 good half shaft, 1 Stub axle.."and correct nut and flange!!!" ,, motor/tranny mounts Misc wiring, electrical stuff, important bolts...Tranny, strut nut,spare strut, pads, shoes, drum...

David

zracre
12-08-2006, 10:11 AM
be sure your braking system is up to the task...and bring spares. My car was ultra reliable and the only failures I had were the roll pins inside the tranny (bring a spare gearbox...they are easy to change) and brake parts (extra pads/shoes/fluid). Be sure the alignment is good and rotate the tires around if you want them to last!! Good luck and enjoy! That is one of the most satisfying cars you can drive when they are right.

pballance
12-08-2006, 11:07 AM
Hmm, I wouldn't have thought the transmission would break that easy. Oh well, so far I have everything you guys have mentioned. Before I bought the race car I managed to pick up a 72 parts car. Body was toast and while the RR suspension was no good, I got a lot of good parts from the rest of the car.

No for the list: