PDA

View Full Version : solid motor mount causes damage?

jasonp
11-12-2006, 12:09 PM
I have an mk2 IT racecar, 1.8l 16v. During the process of removing my gearbox I had to remove my starter and discovered the bolt hole part of the housing was broken and had been held on by the pressure of the bolt. This is where the starter attaches through the gearbox and to the motor by way of a long bolt.

I have a solid aluminum (tt) front motor mount and the Bildon racing transmission mount and an HD rear engine mount. I'm guessing all of this has contributed to vibrations and the breakage of the starter housing.

Has anyone else had this experience?

I am in my third year of racing and learning all the time. I will have to check with my engine builder to see if the 3 year old motor was balanced and blueprinted as I understand a lack of this procedure may add to the engine vibrations and associated breakage and loose bolts, etc.

Another question is, how often do us VW people rebuild our engines?

Bill Miller
11-12-2006, 12:29 PM
I have an mk2 IT racecar, 1.8l 16v. During the process of removing my gearbox I had to remove my starter and discovered the bolt hole part of the housing was broken and had been held on by the pressure of the bolt. This is where the starter attaches through the gearbox and to the motor by way of a long bolt.

I have a solid aluminum (tt) front motor mount and the Bildon racing transmission mount and an HD rear engine mount. I'm guessing all of this has contributed to vibrations and the breakage of the starter housing.

Has anyone else had this experience?

I am in my third year of racing and learning all the time. I will have to check with my engine builder to see if the 3 year old motor was balanced and blueprinted as I understand a lack of this procedure may add to the engine vibrations and associated breakage and loose bolts, etc.

Another question is, how often do us VW people rebuild our engines?
[/b]