PDA

View Full Version : Kill switch wiring

JoshS
10-26-2006, 05:29 PM
I did a couple of searches on this forum and elsewhere, and found some good discussions, but really couldn't convince myself of the right thing, and I'm no electrical engineer. I'm a visually-oriented guy, so maybe using these diagrams you can all help me.

Given the wiring diagram below, can I place a simple single-pole switch in the circuit that runs around the left and top of the diagram, either right before or right after the big 200A fuse? Or do I need one of the multi-pole switches that somehow connect into the alternator circuit?

I'm thinking the simpler approach will work. The junction point with the 8 large fuses you see eventually leads to the ignition switch, among other places.

http://members.roadfly.com/jsirota/Z3Coupe/WiringDiagram-e36z3_99.jpg

If I need the multi-pole switch, can someone please explain to me how to wire it? I found this diagram below from Pegasus, but it's not descriptive enough for me to know what to do with it. Pegasus seems to say that all cars with alternators need these multi-pole switches, but based on what I've read elsewhere, as long as the alternator is still connected to the battery, then the single-pole switch should work?

http://www.pegasusautoracing.com/Images/L/4430-inst.jpg

Thanks for the help!

JimLill
10-26-2006, 06:14 PM
Keep in mind that the kill switch must not only stop the engine but should isolate vehicle wiring from the battery to minimize a fire threat. The Red connection in my diagram when wired as shown, does just that. I lack enough time to give you more detail, but that Pegasus sourced diagram is concise and correct, may just be some hlepful hints for a electro-newbie!

this may help people explain it.......

http://www.vectorbd.com/r-series/4430-inst.jpg

In answer to the multi-pole switch comment. The Pegasus is 3PST 2 poles are NO and 1 pole is NC.

The Red/Green and Violet/Yellow are N.O. and the Blue/Orange is N.C.

JimLill