PDA

View Full Version : Rough running ITC 85 Civic hatch .

trobbins
10-23-2006, 05:36 PM
My newly obtained 1985 ITC Honda Civic has a problem .

Symptoms ,
Starts hard and pops untill warmed up . Then idles ok .
Won't rev past 6000 RPM and won't rev past 3500 without popping and backfiring .
Stalls and won't start up again .
Fuel pressure gauge says there is between 6 and 7 psi after fuel pressure regulator .
Fuel level window shows on carb shows good .
I'll be checking fuel filter for blockage , but has fuel pressure .

Specifics ,
Honda carb ,
Stock Honda ignition ,
Not familiar with either ,

"I" don't think this is a fuel issue but like I said I'm no carb expert .
I hate to sound like a dummy , but I know there some experts out there that may give me an avenue to pursue that I haven't thought of yet .

I am planning on converting the car over to LP GP for next season but just in case I don't I'd like to be able to figure it out .

Thanks .

iambhooper
10-23-2006, 08:46 PM
well, i'm not an expert mechanic, but i'm good at asking the right people. to me, it sounds like the timing is off (retarded?). the car should rev to redline, and beyond. as for the sounds, is the car up to temp?

i would check the following:
timing (static and distributer)
cap and rotor
plugs
wires

what about the battery cables? are they in good shape? check their condition, as well as all ground straps. it may sound odd, but a faulty connection can easily cause this. in '05 i had a plug wire come loose, at Lowes, costing us top end RPM's during the race. just the other day, we had a loose negative cable and had a lot of sputter.

hoop

charrbq
10-23-2006, 10:36 PM
Also, check for vacuum leaks, secure intake and exhaust manifolds.

Ed Funk
10-24-2006, 05:39 AM
Check the wiring from the distributor to the tach (if it's an after market unit), if this is involved, the tach would be bouncing like crazy at the same time as the break-up and sputtering.

Harvey
10-24-2006, 06:21 AM