PDA

View Full Version : Bicycling a Rabbit

JimW337
09-06-2006, 07:09 AM
Another first for me at Nashville, was getting the Rabbit up on two wheels. After I got the car back on track 3 laps down I was ready to lap the pack (remember I'm a Novice). During that first lap back on track there is an uphill section of esses leading onto the back straight. When I made the left the wheels came off the ground and the world looked a little tilted through the windshield. Luckly, it was in the middle of the esses and I was already turning right which brought the car down. I couldn't remember what I did differently from any other time through that section and I really wanted to know so I wouldn't do it again.

Is bicycling a Rabbit normal? Is this something I should expect under certain conditions? And how high is too high to get 2 wheels off the ground.

Too many firsts for my first race. I guess you should expect the unexpected in racing.

JamesB
09-06-2006, 08:26 AM
jim with how much spring are in these cars its verry easy with the touch of a curb or otherwise to put the car on two. I don't know those esses but if anyone was behind you see if they have video to be sure you really did go up on two and not hit and off camber section that fooled you.

However, if you where around me in spring school you may have seen me do it the few times I got too close to the turn 1 inside curbing.

zracre
09-06-2006, 09:31 AM
my GTI used to 2 wheel alot...I didn't even know it until someone told me from behind...it just feels like body roll but when she gets way up there and it is corrected it can be scary...on Toyo's it was alot...I can't imagine with a sticky set of Hoosiers now :unsure:

RSTPerformance
09-06-2006, 11:32 AM
And how high is too high to get 2 wheels off the ground.
[/b]

If your mirror touches the ground, you might be a little to high... :birra:

Raymond

JLawton
09-06-2006, 11:58 AM