PDA

View Full Version : Wheel Bearings & Hubs...

RSTPerformance
08-03-2006, 12:26 AM
I am changing the front wheel bearings in my 93 VW Cabrio (I know I know, save the comments, I do have a wonderful Girlfriend) as they are making noise. It is my first time attempting to change the bearings with my own press, In the Audi's we have always sent them out to be done. What a learning experience... lets just say they should have been done tonight, but they are not, errrrr. lol

Anyway my question... sorta builds on previose discussions.

Street Car:
How often do you change the wheel bearings?

When you change the wheel bearings do you also change the hubs as standard practice?

What if the bearings were making that anoying groaning noise, do you change the hubs then?

Race Car:
How often do you change the wheel bearings?
I think the concensus is every 6 or so races/weekends or every 750 - 1,000 miles.

When you change the wheel bearings do you also change the hubs as standard practice?
I think the concensus is yes, you do change them everytime while it is apart.

Raymond "More interested to know if I should be changing the hubs in my cabrio or if it is unnessesary" Blethen

VW16VRacer
08-03-2006, 01:20 AM
Raymond

We will not replace hubs on a street car unless they are damaged by the wheel bearing. Our general rule in my shop is if the inner race presses off with the hub, and you have to press the race off the hub then the hub is most likely ok, if there is no sign of heat damage. If the hub has scoring, from the bolt on Audi's or the nut on VW's, being loose or from the bearing going really bad for long enough then by all means replace it.