PDA

View Full Version : Oversteer Problem

Nickel Dime
07-05-2006, 06:41 AM
I'm new to racing and this is my first post so please bear with me. I run a Datsun 510 in ITC. The car seems to be well balanced and neutral at turn in (unless I over cook it). At VIR I haven't really noticed too much of a problem. In 90 degree turns I get a nice controlable 4 wheel slip angle. But I went to Roebling Road recently, with it's fast 180 degree sweepers, and about 3/4 of the way through the turns I was fighting to keep the rear of the car behind the front. I realize some of this is my lack of experience and the loose nut behind the wheel but I was wondering if there is an adjustment I can make to help late corner oversteer without sacrificing too much at turn in. Keep in mind with 90 some HP, throttle induced oversteer is a fantasy I hope to some day experiance.

Any ideas?

Festus E. Simkins
07-05-2006, 08:59 AM
Here are a couple three things you can do. I am assuming that you have adjustable sway bars.

1. Soften the rear sway bar if you have one.

or

2. Stiffen the front sway bar

or

3. Adjust tire pressures. Typically increasing tire pressure will increase grip. That is to a point. The tire pressure thing can be real touchy. However, if your tire pressures and temps are spot on I would leave them alone and work with the sway bars.

4. If none of this works remember "slow in fast out." You may have to alter your driving style for these types of turns. I would rather enter a turn a little slower and be able to power through it than dive in and have to make a lot of corrections in the middle of the turn.

5. John Saucier once asked me when I was having a similar problem... "How old are the tires?" They had several heat cycles on them. Bought new tires and problem was gone. Lap times dropped 3.5 seconds. Only cost about $650 and change.

Just my .02. Hope it helps. :D

Nickel Dime
07-05-2006, 09:37 AM