PDA

View Full Version : ITC CRX radiator

CDS
04-15-2006, 11:37 PM
Is there a preferred aftermarket radiator for the 1st gen 1500 CRX? Mine runs a little hot at slower speeds with the stock unit. Also, is an oil cooler recommended? I run in the southeast where the ambient temps can be pretty high. I will be installing an oil temp guage soon to get an idea how hot things are running. I'm still learning this car so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

bamfp
04-16-2006, 08:47 AM
When I had my CRX I ran the stock rad. with an 175 thermostat. It still ran alittle hot on caution laps. I would definately install an oil cooler. My oil temps were in the 220 range with it.

Blake

Greg Gauper
04-16-2006, 10:50 AM
The stock radiator does work ok if it is good shape...as well as the rest of the cooling system.

However, the stock radiators do tend to plug up over time with corrosion and deposits. This will effect the cooling system. Make sure your water pump is in good shape, as well as the cap, and T-stat, and also that you have bled the cooling system properly. I had an issue with hot temps my last year of IT with an 8-year old radiator. Car would run 190+ in cool weather. A new Modine OEM replacement dropped the temps right back to normal and it has run fine ever since.