PDA

View Full Version : Tire pressures...

StephenB
03-08-2006, 03:33 PM
I've always been curious to see how much the tire pressures change in the turns, ect. Has anybody ever used these and seen a real difference in pressure while at race speed and then back onto pit lane after a cool down lap? I'm not really thinking of purchasing I am just curious if anyone has real data to cure my curiosity!

http://www.intercompracing.com/detail.cfm?ItemID=272

joeg
03-08-2006, 04:44 PM
No experience with monitors, but I have some experience with the pressure relief types on oval tracks.

I would guess that unless you had telemetry to the pits (where it could be monitored) or the ability to record, you would be hard pressed to note changes while driving and not become dangerously distracted. It would also be rather expensive to have a couple of sets of tires set up with those puppies.

They are good for detecting tires going flat, I am informed.

Others should chime in.

MMiskoe
03-13-2006, 10:06 PM
We bought a new car last fall & it has tire pressure monitors on it. Fun in that you can watch the pressures come up as you get going on the highway. Haven't really studied it for how much change you get at different ambient temps (its Kathy's car so I don't drive it much). They aren't terribly accurate, set all 4 to the same pressure w/ a good gauge then roll it across the driveway so it will display the pressures & there will be 2 the same, one a pound high & one a pound low. Give it a few years & you might be able to get the sensors at the junkyard, then figure out how to interpert the signal w/ a simple meter.

I know they make remote read out IR pyrometers so you could mount the display in the car while aiming the sensor at most anything you wanted to check on while driving. I think you will find the bike racers at Daytona use them to monitor several different sections of tire at once so they can see how the edges heat up differently than the centers.

JohnRW