PDA

View Full Version : LSD...Welded...opinoins!

joshuagore
03-08-2006, 01:41 PM
This is my first year in IT, and my first year road racing. I picked up a ITS prepped 77 280z.

It came with a welded diff, and after a interesting discussion with an experienced road racer, and engineer, I am confused. He says we should swap in our open diff for the welded diff, and he also says to NOT upgrade to an LSD.

He feels that we should spend more time with our suspension setup, perfecting it, and we won feel a need for an LSD, at IT-S power levels.

Anyone else feel that the z platform can be setup in a way that the open diff wont be a limitation?

Thanks,
Josh

turboICE
03-08-2006, 01:57 PM
I can think of no instance where his advice to run an open diff would be well advisable.

Anytime traction at maximum acceleration matters you will notice it, arguably even more so with a well dialed in suspension. In stock form it matters for an even ITC car.

I would have him clarify.

rob22
03-08-2006, 03:03 PM
I have raced ITS and E Production Z cars since 1992, beginning with an ITS 280Z with an open rear. In most corners the 280 would light up the right rear and be crazy loose. We soon welded up the rear and the car was at least 2 seconds a lap quicker at sebring short course. The car would push somewhat in some corners, however the trade off was well worth it.

Several years late we built a 72 240 Z ITS car beginning with a locked rear. The car handled well and was very quick. We installed an LSD and the car was about 1/2 second quicker at sebring short and had no push.

I agree with Turbo, I can think of no instance where the open rear would be beneficial in road racing.
My experience is the welded diff's can work just fine in Z cars, however, a properly set up LSD would be better.

"Bosco"

joshuagore
03-08-2006, 03:15 PM
I can think of no instance where his advice to run an open diff would be well advisable.